The McCreary County Board of Education met in Special Session on April 27, 2017 at 6:00 PM at the Board of Education Central Office. Chairman Kidd welcomed everyone then called the meeting to order and asked for a roll call. Present were: Brandon Kidd, Rhonda Armijo, Nelda Gilreath, Deborah Gibson, Dustin Stephens and Superintendent, Michael M. Cash. Also present were: the media, school system staff and interested parties.

## **APPROVE AGENDA - #10005**

A motion was made by Ms. Rhonda Armijo and a second by Mrs. Nelda Gilreath to approve the agenda as presented. Members voted as follows:

Gibson – AYE; Stephens – AYE; Gilreath – AYE; Armijo – AYE; Kidd - AYE

## Tax Hearing

At this time Chairman, Brandon Kidd, shared with the audience that this was a hearing and anyone interested in addressing the Board needed to sign-up and there would be a 2 minute time limit. The Board would listen to the concerns of the community. He asked Finance Director, Michelle King, to share with everyone present results of the tax levied for FY 2016 and what the tax would levy for FY 2017. Ms. King shared with everyone present the results of the tax levied for FY 2016 and what they would be for FY 2017. She also shared that this money could only be spent on buildings/facilities or to purchase buses. She shared that this money could not be spent on salaries. Chairman Kidd asked Ms. Darlene Price to address the board with concerns regarding the tax issue. Ms. Price shared that she represented MBRTV and WHAY Radio. She asked the board is there a surplus of 1.7 million. She then asked if there were two Finance Officers. And she asked how much it cost to renovate the Board office. She shared that she has had dozens of parents and school staff tell her they are afraid to come to the board and ask questions. Chairman Kidd thanked her for her comments and reminded everyone present that this was a hearing.

## **APPROVE ADJOURN - #10006**

A motion was made by Mrs. Nelda Gilreath and a second by Ms. Rhonda Armijo to approve adjourning the meeting. Members voted as follows:

Chairperson	Secretary
Olosoft ATE, Otophens ATE, Ollicati ATE, Athijo ATE, Ata ATE	
Gibson – AYE; Stephens – AYE; Gilreath – AYE; Armijo – AYE; Kidd - AYE	